Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Dunston

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Dunston

"Dunston, a hamlet, township, and chapelry (to Penkridge), two miles N of Penkridge, contains 250 inhabitants, and about 1000 acres of land. Mr William Critchley owns 250 acres, and nearly all the rest belongs to the Earl of Lichfield, the lord of the manor."
[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851]

Census

The population of Dunston township was as follows:
1801 -- 208
1831 -- 272
1841 -- 250

A surname index of the 1851 census of Dunston township is included in the Staffordshire 1851 Census Surname index, Volume 12, Penkridge, published by the Birmingham & Midland SGH

Church History

"The Church of St Leonard, is a small modern brick edifice, except the tower, which is of stone, and appears very ancient.
The living is a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of Lord Hatherton, and incumbency of the Rev. Evan Price, who is also incumbent of Coppenhall."

[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851)

The church of St Leonard, Dunston, was a chapelry of Penkridge parish, details of which can be found on the Penkridge parish page.

A view of St Leonard's Church (1).
A view of St Leonard's Church (2)

Church Records

Church of England Registers
The register of St Leonard commences in 1853. The original registers for the period 1853-1952 (Bapts) & 1980-1996 (Mar) are deposited at Staffordshire Record Office. Earlier entries are recorded in the Penkridge parish registers.
Bishops Transcripts, 1854-60 (with gaps 1856-7) are deposited at Lichfield Record Office.

Description and Travel

A transcription of the section on Dunston from A Topographical History of Staffordshire by William Pitt (1817)

You can see pictures of Dunston which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Dunston has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ927177 (Lat/Lon: 52.756835, -2.109618), Dunston which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

The chapelry became part of Penkridge Union following the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834.