Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Patshull

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Patshull

"Patshull, or Patteshull, anciently called Peccleshala, is a parish occupying a western point of Staffordshire, which projects into Shropshire, six miles W by N of Wolverhampton. It has about 1850 acres of land, and 177 inhabitants. The village comprises a few cottages, prettily situated on Burnill Green, a farm house, occupied by Mr Davis, and the Pigot Arms Inn, occupied by Miss Whiston. On the borders of the two counties is a fine sheet of water, called Snowdon Pool, and about half a mile E of the Green is Patshull Hall, an extensive mansion, picturesquely seated in a beautiful park of 341 acres, adorned with a fine serpentine expanse of water, called Patshull Pool. This and the adjoining estate of Pattingham were sold by Sir John Astley, for £100,000, to the late Lord Pigot, whose celebrated diamond paid for them. They were the seat and property of Sir Robert Pigot, Bart, but have lately been sold to the Earl of Dartmouth, whose son, Viscount Lewisham, MP, resides at the Hall. The Earl is also lord of the manor."
[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851]

Bibliography

'A History of Codsall, Patshull & Pattingham.
An Abstract from Victoria County History of Staffordshire, Vol XX'

by MW Greenslade
Published 1989, by Staffordshire Libraries, Arts & Archives, Stafford.

Cemeteries

A transcript of the Monumental Inscriptions of the church of Patshull, St Mary has been published by the Birmingham & Midland SGH.

Census

The population of Patshull parish was as follows:
1831 - 132
1841 - 117

Church History

"St Mary's Church, Patshull, is a chaste fabric in the Italian style, built by Sir John Astley, to whose memory it has a tomb, bearing recumbent effigies of himself and lady. Here is another tomb in memory of Sir Richard Astley, who is represented at the head of a squadron of horse, and on each side of the monument are figures of his two wives, in sitting postures, upon pedestals. The Earl of Dartmouth is patron of the perpetual curacy, in the incumbency of the Rev. W George Greenstreet, MA."

[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851)

Church Records

Church of England Registers
The parish registers of St Mary, Patshull commence in 1559. The original registers for the period 1559-1990 (Bapts), 1770-1989 (Mar) & 1559-1988 (Bur) are deposited at Staffordshire Record Office.
Bishops Transcripts, 1656-1874 (with many gaps) are deposited at Lichfield Record Office.

Description and Travel

A transcription of the section on Patshull from A Topographical History of Staffordshire by William Pitt (1817)

You can see pictures of Patshull which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Patshull has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ801006 (Lat/Lon: 52.602792, -2.295279), Patshull which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Patshull parish became part of Shiffnall Union following the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834.