Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Penn

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Penn

"Penn is a large parish, comprising 3890 acres, and the two townships and villages of Upper and Lower Penn, the former of which has 716 and the latter 226 inhabitants. The Duke of Sutherland is lord of the manor, and owner of a large portion of the soil. The rest belongs to the following resident freeholders, JW Sparrow, Esq, of Penn Hall; the Rev William Dalton, of Lloyd House; Robert Thacker, Esq, of Muchall Hall; Sidney Cartwright, Esq, of the Leasowes, and a few smaller owners.
Upper or Over Penn is a large pleasant village on the Stourbridge road, two miles S by W of Wolverhampton, containing Penn Hall, and several other neat mansions, and commanding extensive prospects of the surrounding country.
Lower Penn is a small irregularly built village, near the canal, two miles W of Upper Penn, and nearly four miles WSW of Wolverhampton."
[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851]

Bibliography

'Out and About in Penn & District'
by Angus Dunphy
Published 1990, by Angus Dunphy, Dinas Powys.

'Over and Nether Penn and District'
by Angus Dunphy
Published 1994, by Angus Dunphy, Dinas Powys.

'Penn in Old Photographs'
by Elizabeth A Rees
Published 1990, by Alan Sutton, Stroud, Gloucestershire.

Census

The population of Penn parish was as follows:
1831 - 863
1841 - 942

A surname index of the 1851 census of Penn parish is included in the Staffordshire 1851 Census Surname index, Volume 13, Wolverhampton, published by the Birmingham & Midland SGH.

Church History

"St Bartholomew's Church, Penn, was repaired in 1765, when the tower of brick was erected, and again in 1799, when the chancel was rebuilt of brick. It was thoroughly repaired in 1845, when 150 additional sittings were obtained, making the total number 492.
The Bishop of Lichfield is patron of the vicarage, in the incumbency of the Rev. Henry Moore, MA, of Eccleshall."

[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851)

Church Records

Church of England Registers
The parish registers of St Bartholomew, Penn commence in 1569. The original registers for the period 1569-1876 (Bapts), 1569-1845 (Mar) & 1569-1856 (Bur) are deposited at Staffordshire Record Office.
Bishops Transcripts, 1664-1852 (with gaps 1667-70, 1770-73 & 1810-12) are deposited at Lichfield Record Office.

A transcript of the registers of St Bartholomew for the period 1570-1754 (Bapts, Mar & Bur) (Part 1) was published in 1921 by the Staffordshire Parish Registers Society, and has been reprinted by the Birmingham & Midland SGH.

A transcript of the registers of St Bartholomew for the period 1748-1812 (Bapts), 1754-1812 (Mar), & 1754-1812 (Bur) (Part 2) was published in 1995 jointly by the Staffordshire Parish Registers Society and the Birmingham & Midland SGH.

Description and Travel

A transcription of the section on Penn from A Topographical History of Staffordshire by William Pitt (1817)

You can see pictures of Penn which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Penn has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO893960 (Lat/Lon: 52.561698, -2.159287), Penn which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Penn parish became part of Seisdon Union following the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834.