We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Bemerton

"BEMERTON, a chapelry in the parish of Fugglestone St. Peter, hundred of Branch and Dole, in the county of Wilts, near Salisbury. The living is a rectory united with that of Fugglestone, in the diocese of Salisbury. The church is dedicated to St. Andrew. The rectory of Bemerton has been held by several distinguished men:- Curle, Bishop of Winchester; George Herbert, the poet; John Norris, the metaphysician; and Archdeacon Coxe, the historian and traveller. The parsonage-house was rebuilt and the church repaired by the famous sacred poet, George Herbert. His remains were interred here, the 3rd of March, 1633. The church contains a monument to Norris, and another to Herbert, recently erected."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]

Note:
See Fugglestone for early parish registers.

Cemeteries

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bemerton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

  • Common to all parishes is a Key to Abbreviations and a description of Church Records and Indexes for Wiltshire, including a complete Marriage Index for the county.

  • Indexes and registers of the parish church of Bemerton, St Andrew:

    (with St John from 1860; for earlier entries see Fugglestone)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bemerton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bemerton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SU123305 (Lat/Lon: 51.073639, -1.825830), Bemerton which are provided by:

 

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.