Bemerton
"BEMERTON, a chapelry in the parish of Fugglestone St. Peter, hundred of Branch and Dole, in the county of Wilts, near Salisbury. The living is a rectory united with that of Fugglestone, in the diocese of Salisbury. The church is dedicated to St. Andrew. The rectory of Bemerton has been held by several distinguished men:- Curle, Bishop of Winchester; George Herbert, the poet; John Norris, the metaphysician; and Archdeacon Coxe, the historian and traveller. The parsonage-house was rebuilt and the church repaired by the famous sacred poet, George Herbert. His remains were interred here, the 3rd of March, 1633. The church contains a monument to Norris, and another to Herbert, recently erected."[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Note:
See Fugglestone for early parish registers.
Cemeteries
- St Andrew, Lower Road, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Lower Road, Church of England
Church Records
- St Andrew, Lower Road, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Lower Road, Church of England
- St Michael & All Angels, St Michael's Road, Church of England, Bemerton Heath
- Bemerton Methodist Church, Roman Road, Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bemerton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Common to all parishes is a Key to Abbreviations and a description of Church Records and Indexes for Wiltshire, including a complete Marriage Index for the county.
Indexes and registers of the parish church of Bemerton, St Andrew:
(with St John from 1860; for earlier entries see Fugglestone)
- WSRO registers: Chr 1657-1939, Mar 1671-1939, Bur 1657-1950
- VRI Chr 1656-1914, Mar 1671-1906
- Phillimore Marriages 1608-1837 (vol 12, with Fugglestone)
Gazetteers
- A transcription of the section for Bemerton from
the National Gazetteer (1868).
- The entry for Bemerton from
A Vision of Britain through time.
- Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bemerton to another place.
Maps
- View maps of Bemerton and places within its boundaries.