We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Biddestone

"BIDDESTONE, (or Bidstone), a parish, township, and village in the hundred of Chippenham, in the county of Wilts, 4 miles to the W. of Chippenham, its post town, and 18 from Bristol. It formerly constituted two parishes, St. Nicholas and St. Peter, but they are now united for ecclesiastical purposes. The brook called the Wavering flows through the village. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Gloucester and Bristol, value with the curacy of Slaughterford, £102, in the patronage of the Warden and Fellows of Winchester College. The church, dedicated to St. Nicholas, is an ancient structure, and was thoroughly repaired in 1850. It has a monument to Edmund Smith, a poet of some note at the beginning of the 18th century, who died at Hartham House, in this parish. The church of St. Peter has been taken down. There is a chapel belonging to the Baptists, and a National school. The charities amount to £23 per annum. Lord Methuen is lord of the manor."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]

 

Cemeteries

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Biddestone area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

  • Common to all parishes is a Key to Abbreviations and a description of Church Records and Indexes for Wiltshire, including a complete Marriage Index for the county.

  • Indexes and registers of the parish church of Biddestone, St Peter (later St Nicholas):

    • WSRO registers: Chr 1688-1965, Mar 1688-1993, Bur 1688-1911
    • VRI Chr 1688-1906, Mar 1689-1837
    • WFHS transcript Chr & Bur 1605 to 1837 (includes BTs before surviving parish registers.)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Biddestone which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Biddestone has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST863735 (Lat/Lon: 51.460257, -2.198605), Biddestone which are provided by:

 

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.