Hide
Bishopstone (near Wilton)
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"BISHOPSTONE, a parish in the hundred of Downton, in the county of Wilts, 4 miles to the S. of Wilton. Salisbury is its post town. It contains the hamlet of Throope, and several others. The living is a vicarage* and sinecure rectory in the diocese of Salisbury, of the value of £806, in the patronage of the Earl of Pembroke. The church, which once belonged to the priory of Monkton Farleigh, is dedicated to St. John the Baptist. It is a handsome structure in the form of a cross, in the decorated style of architecture, and has a finely decorated ceiling, some canopied niches, and two stone coffins, in which were deposited the remains of bishops. The parochial charities, consisting of a bequest for the benefit of the school, amount to £12 a year. There is a parochial day-school and a Sunday-school, the latter built by the present rector, the Rev. Chancellor Lear."
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Note:
There is another Bishopstone in North Wiltshire, near Swindon.
Hide
-
Common to all parishes is a Church Records and Indexes for Wiltshire, including a complete Marriage Index for the county.
-
Indexes and registers of the parish church of Bishopstone (nr. Wilton, South Wilts), St John the Baptist:
- WSRO registers: Chr 1636-1986, Mar 1636-1985, Bur 1636-1987
- IGI Chr 1636-1654 Batch C057922, Chr 1700-1731 Batch C057922, Chr 1732-1875 Batch C057921,
Mar 1636-1654 and 1700-1731 Batch M057922, Mar 1732-1880 Batch M057921 - VRI Chr 1654-1699, Mar 1654-1699
- Wiltshire Index Service Burials 1636-1732 & 1800-1837
-
Dot Gulliver has transcribed Bishopstone parish registers from 1636 to 1910 for baptisms and 1636-1920 for marriages and burials. They can be viewed on the Wiltshire OPC site.
- A transcription of the section for Bishopstone (near Wilton) from the National Gazetteer (1868).
- The entry for Bishopstone (near Wilton) from A Vision of Britain through time.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bishopstone (near Wilton) to another place.
- The entry for Bishopstone (near Wilton) from British History Online.
- The entry for Bishopstone from Wiltshire Community History.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SU074257 (Lat/Lon: 51.030777, -1.895227), Bishopstone (near Wilton) which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.