Bishopstone (near Wilton)
"BISHOPSTONE, a parish in the hundred of Downton, in the county of Wilts, 4 miles to the S. of Wilton. Salisbury is its post town. It contains the hamlet of Throope, and several others. The living is a vicarage* and sinecure rectory in the diocese of Salisbury, of the value of £806, in the patronage of the Earl of Pembroke. The church, which once belonged to the priory of Monkton Farleigh, is dedicated to St. John the Baptist. It is a handsome structure in the form of a cross, in the decorated style of architecture, and has a finely decorated ceiling, some canopied niches, and two stone coffins, in which were deposited the remains of bishops. The parochial charities, consisting of a bequest for the benefit of the school, amount to £12 a year. There is a parochial day-school and a Sunday-school, the latter built by the present rector, the Rev. Chancellor Lear."[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Note:
There is another Bishopstone in North Wiltshire, near Swindon.
Cemeteries
- St John the Baptist, -, Church of England, Bishopstone (nr. Wilton)
Church Records
- St John the Baptist, -, Church of England, Bishopstone (nr. Wilton)
- Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chapel Lane, Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bishopstone (nr. Wilton)
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bishopstone area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Common to all parishes is a Key to Abbreviations and a description of Church Records and Indexes for Wiltshire, including a complete Marriage Index for the county.
Indexes and registers of the parish church of Bishopstone (nr. Wilton, South Wilts), St John the Baptist:
- WSRO registers: Chr 1636-1986, Mar 1636-1985, Bur 1636-1987
- IGI Chr 1636-1654 Batch
C057922, Chr 1700-1731 Batch C057922, Chr 1732-1875 Batch
C057921,
Mar 1636-1654 and 1700-1731 Batch M057922, Mar 1732-1880 Batch M057921 - VRI Chr 1654-1699, Mar 1654-1699
- Wiltshire Index Service Burials 1636-1732 & 1800-1837
Dot Gulliver has transcribed Bishopstone parish registers from 1636 to 1910 for baptisms and 1636-1920 for marriages and burials. They can be viewed on the Wiltshire OPC site. See also the announcement on the Guild of One-Name Studies Forum Dec 2005.
Gazetteers
- A transcription of the section for Bishopstone (near Wilton) from
the National Gazetteer (1868).
- The entry for Bishopstone (near Wilton) from
A Vision of Britain through time.
- Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bishopstone (near Wilton) to another place.
History
- The entry for Bishopstone (near Wilton) from British History Online.
Maps
- View maps of Bishopstone (near Wilton) and places within its boundaries.