Leigh Delamere
"LEIGH-DE-LA-MERE, a parish in the hundred of Chippenham, county Wilts, 5 miles N.W. of Chippenham, its post town, and 8 S.W. of Malmesbury. The village of Leigh consists of the church, parsonage, and manor farm, the rest of the parish forming the hamlet of Sevington. The parish derives its name from the De-la-Mere family, who sold it prior to the year 1369. The tithes have been commuted for a rent-charge of £236. The living is a rectory with the curacy of Sevington annexed, joint value £290, in the diocese of Gloucester, and Bristol. The living was once held by a brother of Bishop Latimer, who was interred here. The church, dedicated to St. Margaret, is a neat edifice with a curious bell turret. The church was rebuilt in 1846 at the expense of the late Joseph Neeld, Esq. At Sevington is a small dame school. Sir John Neeld, Bart., is lord of the manor."[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Leigh Delamere or Leigh de la Mere is 5 miles NW of Chippenham. Grid Ref ST885793. Postcode SN14 6JY. Population 128 in 1831.
Cemeteries
- St Margaret, -, Church of England
Census
If you have been unable to find the 1841 census for this parish, Wiltshire and Swindon Archives website provides the answer as one of their Wiltshire History Questions.
Church Records
- St Margaret, -, Church of England
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Leigh Delamere area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Common to all parishes is a Key to Abbreviations and a description of Church Records and Indexes for Wiltshire, including a complete Marriage Index for the county.
Indexes and registers of the parish church of Leigh Delamere, St Margaret:
- WSRO registers: Chr 1711-1991, Mar 1735-1991, Bur 1734-1990
- BTs before surviving registers for 1605-10, 1619-24, 1632-33, 1666-79, 1696, 1703, 1707, 1729-35
- WFHS transcript Chr & Bur 1605 to 1837 (includes BTs before surviving parish registers)
- IGI Mar 1711-1837 Batch M152661
- VRI Chr 1711-1812, Mar 1654-1837
- Phillimore Marriages 1735-1812 (vol 1)
- Wiltshire Index Service Burials 1800-1837
Gazetteers
The transcription of the section for Leigh de la Mere from the National Gazetteer (1868).