We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Longbridge Deverill

"LONGBRIDGE DEVERILL, a parish in the hundred of Damerham, in the county of Wilts, 2 miles S. of Warminster. This place derives its name from the rivulet Dever, which here takes a subterranean course. The land is nearly equally distributed into arable and pasture, with 900 acres of wood and plantations. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Salisbury, value, with Crockerton and Deverill Monekton, £350, in the patronage of the Marquis of Bath. The church, dedicated to SS. Peter and Paul, was built by subscription, and is situated in the hamlet of Crockerton. It contains monuments of the Marquis of Bath's family. The charities amount to £110, including £90 for Thynne's almshouses."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]

Longbridge Deverill or Deverhill is 3 miles S of Warminster. Grid Ref ST866414. Postcode BA12 7DL. Population 1,307 in 1831, 1,099 in 1951. The historic parish included Crockerton, which became a parish in 1843 with its own parish registers.

Cemeteries

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Longbridge%20Deverill area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

  • Common to all parishes is a Key to Abbreviations and a description of Church Records and Indexes for Wiltshire, including a complete Marriage Index for the county.

  • Indexes and registers of the parish church of Longbridge Deverill, St Peter & St Paul:

    • WSRO registers: Chr 1682-1878, Mar 1682-1975, Bur 1682-1939
    • BTs before surviving registers for 1607, 1622-37, 1672-73, 1678
    • VRI Chr 1607-1880, Mar 1607-1906
  • Indexes and registers of the parish church of Crockerton, Holy Trinity:

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Longbridge Deverill which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Longbridge Deverill has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST866414 (Lat/Lon: 51.171624, -2.193071), Longbridge Deverill which are provided by:

 

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.