| Swindon | Contents |
Swindon Local Studies Library is based in the Reference Library. It contains a large collection of printed material, with special emphasis on Swindon and the surrounding parishes, together with the Great Western Railway. In June 2006 it has moved from Regent Circus to Paramount. The information below may not be up to date - see the Swindon Borough Council - Local Studies Library web page, and for opening times and general information see Central Library.
The Local Studies Library liaises with the Wiltshire and Swindon Archives. We have copies of parish registers, bishops transcripts and electoral registers on microfiche. Once a month, a member of the Record Office is available for advice in the library. Please ask staff for details.
Material is arranged by subject and parish, and the staff will explain the arrangement or find books for particular needs. Books range from transcriptions of Saxon land charters to modern structure plans, and topics include geology, archaeology, natural history, building, transport, dialect and many more. Works by Wiltshire authors are also held, and the collection by and about Richard Jefferies is of particular significance. The library holds an important collection of books on the Great Western Railway and particularly on the Swindon Railway Works.
Newspapers are a very valuable primary source of information and Swindon holds long runs on microfilm of the Evening Advertiser (with varying titles from 1854), the North Wilts Herald from 1856 as well as other more recent newspapers. The Reference Library additionally holds The Times on microfilm from 1785.
A wide range of local magazines is collected, including local businesses and commercial publications, parish and village magazines, and society and specialist journals. Especially important is the Wiltshire Archaeological and Natural History Magazine , of which a complete run from 1854 is available.
The library has many maps of Swindon and surrounding areas, including recent large scale Ordnance Survey sheets. Various editions of Ordnance Survey maps, at a scale of 25 inches to 1 mile, are held for the northern part of Wiltshire (late 1880s to the 1940s), while modern 1:10,000 sheets are collected for the same area, and 1:25,000 and 1:50,000 sheets for the whole of Wiltshire. Smaller scale and specialist maps, such as those for geology, soils and footpaths, are also available.
There is a photographic collection containing both early material and recent photographs detailing change and development in Swindon and the surrounding villages. A large number of aerial photographs is held, including the 1991 low level survey in colour.
Electoral Registers for Swindon are held from 1945 and from 1974 for Thamesdown, while the Council minutes are held from 1864. You will find complete Wiltshire Electoral Registers from 1832, and all local Council minutes in the Archives. The library has a full collection of structure and local plans, and all the Wiltshire volumes on listed buildings published by the department of the Environment.
These exist from 1783, although only later Swindon Directories give a complete list of householders. Kelly's Wiltshire Directory was published from 1848 to 1939, and provides useful information on tradesmen and industries. The library is fortunate in having a very long run of Swindon town directories from 1852 until 1970.
Apart from the newspapers already mentioned, certain other material is held on microform. Census information is available fro the Swindon area from 1841 to 1881 and for the whole of Wiltshire for 1891. The International genealogical Index of baptisms and marriages for the British Isles is a useful resource, especially for family historians. It is advisable to book microfilm and microfiche viewers in advance.
A collection of minor material, originally not intended to have long-term significance, but which nevertheless can be of great interest to local historians. Includes such items as advertising material and election leaflets.
Most material is recorded on our computer catalogue and staff will undertake author or subject searches.
Research can be carried out in the Reference Library. Print-outs from microforms can be ordered and posted to you direct.
Photocopying facilities are available although some material is too old or fragile to permit photocopying.
|
Swindon Museum and Art Gallery Bath Rd., Swindon SN1 4BA Tele: 01793 483188 |
Steam Museum Kemble Drive Swindon SN2 2TA. Tele: 01793 466 646 |
Wiltshire and Swindon Archives Wiltshire and Swindon History Centre Cocklebury Road Chippenham SN15 3QN Tele: 01249 705500 |
National Monuments Record Centre Kemble Drive Churchward Swindon |
|
Wiltshire Archaeological and Natural History Society. (Wiltshire Heritage) 41 Long Street, Devizes, Wiltshire. SN10 1NS |
Wiltshire
Buildings Record. At Wiltshire and Swindon History Centre |
Wiltshire
Local Studies Library. At Wiltshire and Swindon History Centre |
Centre for
Oxfordshire Studies. Central Library. Westgate. Oxford OX1 1DJ Tele: 01865 815749 |
This information was originally kindly provided by Swindon Local Studies Library - some amendments have been made later. Further information can be obtained from them and all enquiries should be addressed to:
Swindon Local Studies
Swindon Central Library
Paramount
Princes Street
Swindon SN1 2SD
Phone 01793 463238
email reference.library@swindon.gov.uk
Find
help, report problems, or contribute information.
Last updated by David Hawgood on 14 Nov 2007