Swindon, Wiltshire - The Swindon Collection
The Swindon Collection is a large collection of printed material, with special emphasis on Swindon and the surrounding parishes, together with the Great Western Railway. It is housed in the Central Library in Swindon:
Swindon Collection
Central Library
Regent Circus
SWINDON
SN1 1QG.The Swindon Collection also has a free online history gallery of the Swindon Borough.
An email from the library in November 2008 gives a summary of the information available:
Microfiche:
- Complete GRO Births, Deaths and Marriages 1837-1999 (England & Wales).
- The IGI.
- GRO Overseas indexes (50 sets of data)
- All parish records for the Swindon Borough, including Blunsdon, Chiseldon, Highworth, Lydiard, Wanborough, Wroughton.
- All WFHS transcriptions for other parishes where available.
- All relevant local census returns, 1841, 1851, 1861, 1871, 1881, 1891, 1901 (with all available street and name indexes).
Microfilm:
- The (London) Times - Complete : 1785 to date.
- Swindon Evening Advertiser - Complete :1854 to date
- Gazette & Herald, Swindon Star, Messenger and all relevant local papers for the Swindon area.
Self-printing is available, or staff can print for you.
- Free access to Ancestry.com Library Edition with full census records for the UK 1841 to 1901 and much, much more.
- Voters lists and poll books back to the 18th century.
- All books, magazines, newsletters, journals, pamphlets, leaflets & ephemera relating to Swindon and local parishes.
- Full collection of local street and trade directories, almanacs, and telephone books.
- A large collection of material concerning the Great Western Railway, including the staff magazine from the 19th century onwards.
- Full collection of local maps (OS, historical, geological, political, electoral, street maps, GOAD etc)
- An extensive collection of local photographs and illustrations.
OTHER INFORMATION SOURCES.
|
Swindon Museum and Art Gallery Bath Road, SWINDON SN1 4BA. |
Steam Museum Kemble Drive, SWINDON SN2 2TA. |
Wiltshire and Swindon Archives Wiltshire and Swindon History Centre, Cocklebury Road, CHIPPENHAM SN15 3QN. |
National Monuments Record Centre The Engine House, Fire Fly Avenue, SWINDON SN2 2EH |
|
Wiltshire Archaeological and Natural History Society (Wiltshire Heritage), 41 Long Street, DEVIZES, Wiltshire SN10 1NS. |
Wiltshire Buildings Record
At Wiltshire and Swindon History Centre |
Wiltshire Studies Library
At Wiltshire and Swindon History Centre |
Centre for Oxfordshire Studies Central Library, Westgate, OXFORD OX1 1DJ. |