Hide
Chaceley
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"CHACELEY, (or Chaseley), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of Pershore, in the county of Worcester, 3 miles S.W. of Tewkesbury, its post and railway town, and 7 S. of Upton. It is situated on the Severn, which bounds it on the E. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Worcester, value £134, in the patronage of the Vicar of Longdon. The church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, is an ancient edifice, with tower and spire. The parish registers date from 1538. The charities produce £33 per annum, £18 of which is applied to the educating of 16 poor children. The Dean and Chapter of Westminster are the lords of the manor.
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Hide
- A description of Longdon, with Castle Morton and Chaseley in Noake's Guide to Worcestershire, 1868.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Chaceley to another place.
- "Vicarage, united with Forthampton since 1922. Gloucester Diocese. Transferred [to Gloucestershire] from Worcestershire, 1931."
(Ref: Guide to the Parish Records of the City of Bristol and the County of Gloucester; I. Gray & E. Ralph, 1963)
See also: Blockley, Cutsdean, Teddington.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO855307 (Lat/Lon: 51.974576, -2.212498), Chaceley which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.