GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Worcestershire Worcestershire     Contents & Site Map Contents &
Site Map
    Parishes Worcestershire
Towns & Parishes

Link to map of Chaceley on Multimap site

CHACELEY, Worcestershire

"CHACELEY, (or Chaseley), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of Pershore, in the county of Worcester, 3 miles S.W. of Tewkesbury, its post and railway town, and 7 S. of Upton. It is situated on the Severn, which bounds it on the E. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Worcester, value £134, in the patronage of the Vicar of Longdon. The church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, is an ancient edifice, with tower and spire. The parish registers date from 1538. The charities produce £33 per annum, £18 of which is applied to the educating of 16 poor children. The Dean and Chapter of Westminster are the lords of the manor.

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]


GENUKI Home  |  Conditions of Use  |  Contents  |  FAQ  |  GENUKI on WT  |  Help  |  Quick Links  |  Report Errors  |  Search

© Copyright Peter Abbott, GENUKI and contributors, 1999-2009, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see About GENUKI as an Organisation

Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.

URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/WOR/Chaceley/index.html


Valid XHTML 1.0! [Created by Peter Abbott. Last updated 6 May 2009 - 12:55 by Rosemary Lockie]