Hide
Commissary Court of London Will Abstracts Volume 26 (1629-1634) - Locality Index
hide
Hide
The following list covers all places outside of Middlesex and London which were mentioned in the wills, except for a few parishes in Essex, which were under this courts jurisdiction. A folio number has been included for reference when there were multiple occurrences of the same name.
Names given in bold type indicate that the testator lived at the place in question at some point in their life, according to the will.
Names in capital letters denote the testators residence at the time of death.
Localities which I could not identify have been placed in quotation marks.
In some cases, the information given in the wills predates the existence of the parish registers.
England and WalesBedfordshire Cranfield - Reade, W Luton - Barber Odell - Reade, W
Berkshire no locality given - Elton, T Abingdon - Stevenson Aldermaston - Littlefield Enborne - Stevenson Englefield - Littlefield Padworth - Littlefield Reading - Heddington Wallingford - Arthur Windsor - Needs Wolhampton - Littlefield
Buckinghamshire Amersham - Duncombe Ashton Clinton - Worceter Burnham - Needs (Great) Brickhill - Huggeford Great Kimble - Bampton Great Misendon - Weedon Iver - Bryan; Taylor, R
Cambridgeshire university - Blackleach; Bramhall Cambridge - LIVELY Melbourn - Robinson, W 540
Cheshire "Croelane" - Brown, Th 262 "Hesterston Grange" - Beare, J Nantwich - Lowe, M
Cornwall Laskeard - Webb, E Southill - Webb, E
Cumberland Westward - Browne W
Denbighshire "Marklinge" - Davys
Derbyshire Brampton - Shawe, J Killamarsh - Crookes
Devon Diptford - Yowe Kingskerswell - Yowe "Leinster" - Gates Plymouth - HEALE Tavistock - Webb, E
Dorset Lyme Regis - KING, L
Essex no locality mentioned - Blake Barking - Greene, J; James, W; Overall 320 Bocking - Overall 266 Chelmsford - Mann Chingford - BURTON; HAVERS; HENN; POOLE, J East Ham - CROOKES Faulkbourne? - Fortescue Fyfield - Clarke, R Great Hallingbury - Mann (Great?) Parndon - ROBINSON, T; Wood, W 184 Harlowe - Robinson, T Hatfield Peverel - Allen, Al Navestock - Robinson, T Netteswell - Hudspeth; Robinson, T Romford - Greene, J South Weald - Saunders, J 533 Stapleford Abbotts - Robinson, T Tilbury - Haynes West Ham - Greene, J; Shawe, T; Touller Widdington - Crookes
Flintshire Bagillt - Parrey Brynford - Parrey Holywell - Parrey
Glamorganshire Nottage - Hunt, E
Gloucestershire Gloucester - Blackleach Tewkesbury - Burrage
Hampshire Basingstoke - Hatfeild Heckfield - Blackleach Portsmouth - Trehanke
Hertfordshire Aldenham - Wotton Berkhamsted - Howe Broxbourne - Tyson Buntingford - Gylson Chipping Barnet - Francklyn Hertingfordbury - Munte Hitchin - Harding Hoddesdon - Robinson, T; Pegram; Taylor, R Hunsdon - Wood, W 184 "Mill Hill" - Nicholl, Th Much Haddam - Sell Northaw - Read Redbourn - Story Shenley - Nicoll Stevenage - Heath, Jn Tring - Worceter
Kent no locality given - Bulleyne "Bostoll" - Beare, J Brookland - Knell Canterbury - Smith, H Chatham - Steward East Greenwich - Cobham Gravesend - Beare, J "Horsted" - Beare, J Maidstone - Horne; Snatt; Wilkins Newington - Smith, H Petham - Gilney "Ridley" - Howell Sutton at Hone - HOWELL Swingfield - Smith, H Wateringbury - Smith, H Wilmington - Howell
Lancashire Cartmel - Atkinson, T Lathom - Blackleach Ormskirk - Blackleach Wigan - Scott, R
Leicestershire Melton Mowbray - Bateman, M 417
Lincolnshire no locality given - Pary Deeping St James - Gowen Gainesborough - Hodgson Stamford - Gowen
Merionethshire Llanddwywe (?) - Griffith
Monmouthshire Chepstow? - Caple Penallt - James, D
Montgomeryshire "Mynoile" - Evans
Norfolk Norwich - Brewer, H Saddle Bow - Moore, R Wreningham - Havers
Northamptonshire Cottingham - Neale Geddington - Greene, J Litchborough - Billing Norton - Holloway, P Sutton by Castor - Ferman Towcester - Cooper Wansford - Ferman Woodford - James, W
Northumberland "Dewes Greene" - Whitfeild
Oxfordshire no locality given - Moore, Pr "Cattesloe" - Taylor, St Coggs - Taylor, St Deddington - Brand Elsfield - Creeke Horley - Saul Noke - Benson Shipton Underwood - Foxe university - Wise Weston on the Green - Allen, W 475 Witney - Taylor, St
Shropshire `no locality given - Morris "Hurcott" - Hamond Kenley - Blackway Langly - Pearce "Murkson" - Browne, Th 262 Newport - Smart, Margt "Plany" - Willcockes Pontesbury - Highwaye Shrewsbury - Edwards, L
Somerset no locality given - Verdon Martocke - Parsons Winsford - Batten Wrington - Crooke Yeovil - Galledge
Staffordshire no locality given - Becke Bromley - Hall, A Longton - Hunt, Rob Walfall - Potter
Suffolk "Aspley" - Cocke Brightwell - Cocke Creeting All Saints - Cottesford Foxall - Cocke Hemley - Cocke Ipswich - Cocke; Steward, M; Willcockes Martlesham - Cocke Mickfield - Willcockes Newbourne - Cocke Redgrave - Mihell Sproughton - Ryvers, T Waldringfield - Cocke
Surrey Battersea - Awbrey Bletchingley - Leigh Cobham - Taylor, R Kingston on Thames - Beaseley Nutfield - Leigh Putney - Needs Reigate - Ryder Richmond - Dagge Rotherhithe - Browne, Joan Southwark - CLEMENTS; Reston; Rich; Richardson, S; Tungate
Warwickshire Church Lawford - Gowen
Westmoreland Appleby - Moore, R Crosthwait - Atkinson, T Kendal - Turner, N
Wiltshire Salisbury - Drum; Smith, E
Worcestershire Castle Morton - Burrage Longdon - Burrage
Yorkshire Kirklington - Mann Sherburn - Richardson, S
Other CountriesBelgium Hainaut - Van Der Hulst Kortrijk - Host Turnhout - Van Gayle
Bermuda no locality given - Hoste; Smorne
Ireland no locality given - Blackleach; OHaye; Parker, G Cork, Baltimore - CROOKE Dublin univ - Culverwell Memering, co Dergos? - Van Der Hulst
Egypt Alexandria - HELLEND
Indies (East) no locality given - Bateman, L; Medely; Pyffe,
Netherlands Amsterdam - Doby Middelburg - Milmaster; Van Der Hulst The Hague - Doleman
Russia no locality given - Webb, E
Scotland Ayrshire, Killwinning - Montgomery
Tortuga no locality given - Beare, T
Turkey Constantinople - Bondman
Virginia no locality given - HOLT
ShipsAnne Katherine - King, L Coaster - Richardson, T Desire of Dover - Williams, R Discoverie - Foster, Hugh Dolphin - Pyffe Elizabeth - Williams, R Faulcon - Trehanke Fortune - Williams, R Friendship - Carr Globe of Poole - White, W 58 Great Sapher - Hellend Hope - Andrewes, D Hopewell - Beere John - Williams, R London - Lowe, M Lyon - King, L Mary - Nelson Pearle - Bunne Royal Defence - Ryvers, E; Ryvers, T Sarah - Isack Trall - Webb, E |
Material supplied by Mr Leslie Mahler, San Jose, California
[Page generated 27th June 1999 by Brian Pears]