We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Commissary Court of London Will Abstracts Volume 29 (1644/5-1646) - Locality Index

The following list covers all places outside of Middlesex and London which were mentioned in the wills, except for the parishes of Epping, Leyton, Loughton, Nazeing, Waltham Holy Cross, Walthamstow and Woodford in the county of Essex, which were under the jurisdiction of this court.

Names given in bold type indicate that the testator lived at the place in question at some point in their life, according to the will.

Names in capital letters denote the testators residence at the time of death.

Localities which I could not identify have been placed in quotation marks.

In some cases, the information given in the wills predates the existence of the parish registers.

England and Wales

Bedfordshire

Milton Bryan - Collins

 

Berkshire

Reading - Watmore

Windsor - Macham

 

Buckinghamshire

Ascot - Kirton

Colebrook - Pigge

 

Cheshire

no locality given - Keele

 

Cumberland

Warwick - Warwick

 

Derbyshire

Chesterfield - Willis

Derby - Macham

 

Devonshire

Exmouth - Cooke

Ilfracombe - Cox, M

Plymouth - Thomas, Rob 106

 

Essex

Barking - Holbrooke

'Bearden' - Evans, A

Clavering - Evans, A

Hatfield Broadoak - Holbrooke

Malden - Lake

Purleigh - Baylie

Saffron Walden - Thorne

Si Church - Davis, A

Stow Maries - Baylie

West Ham - Branton; Curtis

Woodham Walter - Lake

 

Gloucestershire

Bristol - Adams; Clarke, R; Holbrooke

Tewkesbury - Maddox

 

Hampshire

Calborne - Whiteing

Froxford - Whiteing

 

Herefordshire

Martles - Maddox

Tarrington - Mugg

 

Hertfordshire

no locality given -

Cheshunt - Morley

Chipping Barnet - Fisher, John 119

St Albans - Collins

 

Kent

no locality given - Clarke, W

Deptford - Cox, J

East Greene - Browne, W

Erith - Joanes

Gravesend - Knight, M

Hayes - KEMPSALL

Maidstone - Johnson, J

Newington - Joanes

West Wickham - COX, J

 

Leicestershire

Ashby de la Zouch - Macham

Belgrave - Mayne

Great Yeason - Burton, E

Leicester - Hoshier

Poultney - Thomas, Rob 55

 

Lincolnshire

no locality given - Thorne

Lincoln - Lucas, J

 

Shropshire

Adderley - Blackerby

Edgmond - Smith, J

Market Drayton - Blackerby

Shrewsbury - Lovett

 

Staffordshire

Rowley Regis - Southall

 

Suffolk

no locality given - Richards

 

Surrey

Addington - Cox, J

Blechingley - Ledger

Dulwich - Cole; Maynard

Merstham - WOODWARD, E

Rotherhithe - Neale; Preston

Southwark - Brookebanck; Ledger; Sparke; Willis

 

Warwickshire

Coventry - Clarke, R

Shrewley - Clarke, R

 

Wiltshire

Minety - Everitt

 

Worcestershire

Dudley - Southall

 

Yorkshire

Hull - Browne, W

 

Unknown / Unspecified

Marston - FURNESSE

Northton - Humble

St George near Crocken Pill - Patison

 

Other Countries

"Overseas"

no locality given - LUCAS, T; NICHOLSON; Palmer, J; PERRYMAN

 

Barbados

no locality given - Chapman, T; Knight, S

 

Cuba

no locality given - ELLESMORE

 

East India Co

no locality given - Adams; Cornelions; Cox, J; Edwards; Hardwyn; Hill, W; Joanes; Johnson, J; Johnson, T; Kent; King; Lucas, T; Maddox; Maylard; Minshaw; Oliver; Patison; Pettie; Pettiford; Phillett; Preston; Rondle; Smith, J; Taylor; Weekes; Wheatly

 

East Indies

no locality given - Clarke, C; Oliver; Rondle

 

France

no locality given - Thoris

Crespin - Cantine

Dennain - Cantine

Valenciennes - De La Sauch

 

French Church

no locality given - De Le Queillerie; Hery; Renier

 

Germany

Nuremberg - Morley

 

Guinea

no locality given - Ingall; Neale

 

India

no locality given - Browne, R; Carter; KING ; Mayne

Bussora - King

Machilipatnam - Adams

 

Indonesia

Bantam - HILL, W; JOHNSON, J; Kent; PRESTON; WEEKES

 

Ireland

Dublin - Holbrooke

Waterford - Browne, A

 

Low Countries

no locality given - Cantine; Hery

 

Netherlands

no locality given - Knight, M

 

New England

no locality given - Knight, M; Morley

 

Russia

no locality given - Coker

 

St. Christophers

no locality given - Thorne

 

Spain

no locality given - Thoris

San Lucar de Barrameda - HAWKRIDGE

Sevilla - Hawkridge

 

Virginia

no locality given - Cookeson

Merchants Hope - MATHEWES

 

Ships

Anne Peircy - THORNE

Barbatho Merchant - Chapman, T

Endeavour - CLARKE, C; WATMORE

Frances - Smith, J

Hare - Patison

Hind - Mayne

James - HAWKRIDGE; NEALE

John and Ambrose - Coker

Margaret - ISONN

Mary - EGEIR; KENT

Pinnace Michael - Maddox

Prosperous - Smith, J

Royal Mary - Johnson, J

Seaflower - LUCAS, T

Seahorse - Cornelions; Joanes; King; Mayne; Rideard

Starr - INGALL; PEARSONE

Thomas & Lucy - ELLESMORE

William - CARTER; MINSHAW; PHILLETT; STURMAN

[Material supplied by Mr Leslie Mahler, San Jose, California]