Acomb parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish town in the wapentake of Ainsty, in the liberty of St. Peter; 2½ miles
from York, 8½ from Tadcaster, 12¾ from Wetherby. Population 733. The
Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Stephen, in the peculiar jurisdiction of
the Dissolved Treasurership of York.
Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)
- Baptisms: 1663-1671, 1694-1749, 1760-1983
- Marriages: 1663-1672, 1695-1749, 1754-1990
- Burials: 1662-1671, 1694-1749, 1760-1955
- At the beginning of the register for 1770 is a note from the incumbent which states
that the due to a fire the registers are deficient from 1761 to 1769. This register
included all baptisms marriages and burials. Other than those years I found no other
entries missing although the registers preceeding this date are heavily damaged and
many entries no longer legible. Rob Burns 
- 1634, 1636, 1638, 1639, 1661, 1662, 1663*, 1664, 1666-1669, 1670*,1671, 1675*, 1683*, 1686, 1689, 1692, 1697, 1700, 1701, 1702*, 1704, 1705,
1707-1719, 1723, 1724, 1726-1739, 1741-1794, 1796-1816, 1822, 1823,
1825-1830, 1836, 1856, 1857, 1859-1875
* Filed with the Glebe Terriers in York Minster Library, K1/A 1-5
- C 1634-1856, 1856-1875, 1875-1886;
- M 1634-1885
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CBM 1663-1837 (but including BTs where gaps occur, and the earlier
BTs from 1634-1663); Printed transcript with index;
Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 129; Yorkshire Archaeological Society, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
the link at the bottom of this page.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©Colin Hinson 2016