Acomb parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
A parish town in the wapentake of Ainsty, in the liberty of St. Peter; 2½ miles
from York, 8½ from Tadcaster, 12¾ from Wetherby. Population 733. The
Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Stephen, in the peculiar jurisdiction of
the Dissolved Treasurership of York.
Deposited Registers (BIHR)
- Baptisms: 1663-1671, 1694-1749, 1760-1983
- Marriages: 1663-1672, 1695-1749, 1754-1990
- Burials: 1662-1671, 1694-1749, 1760-1955
- Baptisms and burials 1750-1760, and marriages 1750-1753 destroyed by fire,
others lost
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1634, 1636, 1638, 1639, 1661, 1662, 1663*, 1664, 1666-1669, 1670*,1671, 1675*, 1683*, 1686, 1689, 1692, 1697, 1700, 1701, 1702*, 1704, 1705,
1707-1719, 1723, 1724, 1726-1739, 1741-1794, 1796-1816, 1822, 1823,
1825-1830, 1836, 1856, 1857, 1859-1875
* Filed with the Glebe Terriers in York Minster Library, K1/A 1-5
IGI Coverage:
- C 1634-1856, 1856-1875, 1875-1886;
- M 1634-1885
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CBM 1663-1837 (but including BTs where gaps occur, and the earlier
BTs from 1634-1663); PTI; YPRS 129; YAS, BIHR
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 12.02 on Saturday, 06 September 2008, by Colin Hinson ©2008]