York St Mary Castlegate parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
Baptisms and burials pertaining to the inmates of York Castle may be found
amongst the registers of this parish. The living is a rectory, in the deanery of
the City of York. Population 989.
Deposited Registers (BIHR)
- Baptisms: 1604-1974
- Marriages: 1604-1957
- Burials: 1604-1849, 1922-1928
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1626, 1628-1631, 1633, 1634, 1636-1639, 1661-1663, 1665-1667, 1669,1671, 1673, 1675, 1677-1681, 1684, 1686-1699, 1701-1716, 1718-1728,
1730-1773, 1776-1780, 1782, 1783, 1785-1867, 1870
IGI Coverage:
- C 1604-1837, 1838-1870;
- M 1604-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1604-1705; PTI; YPRS 134; YAS, BIHR
- CMB 1705-1837 (missing, 1774-5, 1775, 1781, 1784); PTI; YPRS 136; YAS, BIHR
- M 1701-1837; I; YMI
- M 1641-1837; TI; BMI; SOG, YCL
- B 1838-1849; TNI; BIHR
(See also YAJ 15, where many extracts of the parish register entries are
annotated with supplementary biographical data, YAS)
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 12.02 on Saturday, 06 September 2008, by Colin Hinson ©2008]