Filey parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish town and township, in the wapentakes of Pickering-Lythe (N.R.) and
Dickering (E.R.); 8 miles from Scarborough, 9 from Bridlington, 18 from
Driffield, 39 from York. The Church, (physically located in the North-Riding)
is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to St. Oswald, in the deanery of Dickering.
Deposited Registers (East Yorkshire Record Office)
- Baptisms: 1574-1640, 1694-1739, 1789-1983
- Marriages: 1571-1641, 1695-1731, 1754-1979
- Burials: 1571-1605, 1695-1739, 1789-1986
- 1598-1601, 1604, 1605, 1607, 1626-1631, 1633, 1634, 1637-1639,1661-1664, 1666-1669, 1671-1673, 1675, 1679-1681, 1683-1686, 1688-1703,
- C 1573-1640, 1720-1867;
- M 1571-1652, 1720-1867
Transcripts and Indexes:
- C 1573-1652; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- C 1573-1640; Typed transcript, with index; East Yorkshire Record Office
- C 1694-1738, 1790-1936, 2 vols; Typed transcript, with index; East Yorkshire Record Office
- M 1571-1640; Typed transcript, with index; East Yorkshire Record Office
- M 1660-1690; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
- M 1694-1730, 1755-1909, 2 vols; Typed transcript, with index; East Yorkshire Record Office
- M 1754-1837; Index only; East Yorkshire Marriage Index
- B 1571-1624; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- B 1571-1605; Typed transcript, with index; East Yorkshire Record Office
- B 1694-1738, 1790-1961, 2 vols; East Yorkshire Record Office
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 16.12 on Sunday, 29 May 2011, by Colin Hinson ©2008]