Howden parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
A parish and market town, in the wapentake and Liberty of Howdenshire; 10
miles from Selby and Snaith, 12 from South Cave. and Market Weighton, 13¾
from Thorne, 16¾ from Pocklington, 20 from Beverley and York, 25 from
Hull, from London, by Thorne, 181, by Lincoln, 199. Population 2,080. The
Church, in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of Durham in
Howdenshire, is a perpetual curacy, commonly styled a vicarage, in the
deanery of Howden.
Deposited Registers (East Yorkshire Record Office)
- Baptisms: 1541-1919
- Marriages: 1541-1921
- Burials: 1541-1914
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1639, 1673, 1697, 1699-1705, 1708-1710, 1713-1720, 1724-1861
IGI Coverage:
- C 1542-1659, 1703-1812, 1813-1861;
- M 1543-1656, 1703-1812, 1813-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- C 1542-1659; M 1542-1644; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 21; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- M 1571-1770; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
- M 1659-1702; B 1543-1659; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 24; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- CM 1703-1743; B 1659-1723; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 32, Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- CB 1746-1776; M 1746-1754; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 48; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- CB 1775-1812; M 1770-1812; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- M 1770-1837; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
- C 1542-1776;
East Yorkshire Family History Society(purchase).
- M 1542-1754;
East Yorkshire Family History Society(purchase).
- B 1542-1812;
East Yorkshire Family History Society(purchase).
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 12.06 on Saturday, 02 June 2012, by Colin Hinson ©2008]