Birkby parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
A parish in the wapentake of Allertonshire, and in the peculiar jurisdiction of
the Bishop of Durham; 6 miles from Northallerton, 11 from Darlington (Co.
Durham), 38 from York. Population 90. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to
St. Peter, in the deanery of Cleveland.
Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)
- Baptisms: 1721-1991
- Marriages: 1721-1751, 1754-1991
- Burials: 1721-1993
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1600-1601, 1603, 1665-1667, 1673, 1674, 1689, 1690, 1718, 1719,1726, 1727, 1760-1813, (all at Durham University Library, Archives and Special). The following are at Borthwick Institute of Historical Research: 1813-
1826, 1830-1832
IGI Coverage:
Transcripts and Indexes:
- M 1813-1837; Index only; Joiner Marriage Index
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 16.12 on Sunday, 29 May 2011, by Colin Hinson ©2008]