Grinton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish in the wapentake of Hang West; 1 mile from Reeth, 7 from Leyburn,
10 from Richmond, 49 from York. Population 689. The Church is a vicarage,
dedicated to St. Andrew, in the deanery of Catterick, diocese of Chester.
Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)
- Baptisms: 1640-1866
- Marriages: 1640-1950
- Burials: 1640-1871
- 1674, 1687-1689, 1693, 1697-1699, 1701-1718, 1721, 1723, 1725-1730,1734-1821, 1823-1853, 1875 (All at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds, plus one undated, c. 1717-
- C 1640-1823, 1824-1847, 1848-1866;
- M 1640-1876
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1640-1837; Consolidated Index at Northallerton Record Office, Swaledale; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- CMB 1640-1807; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 23; North Yorkshire County Record Office, Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- CMB 1640-1807; Transcript with corrected index;
Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD: P10;
- C 1640-1866; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- M 1640-1898; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- M 1640-1802; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
- M 1802-1812; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
- B 1640-1871; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- M 1565-1703; Typed transcript;
Cleveland Family History Society (purchase).
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 23.10 on Thursday, 01 August 2013, by Colin Hinson ©2008]