Middlesbrough parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
A Chapelry in the parish of Acklam, west-division of Langbargh, part in the
Liberty of St. Peter; 5 miles from Stockton (Co. Durham), 10 from Stokesley,
and 12 from Guisborough. Population 40. The Church is a perpetual curacy,
dedicated to St. Hilda. The chapel has long been in ruins; the site of which,
together with the chapel-yard unenclosed, is occasionally used as a burial-
ground.
Deposited Registers (CA)
- Baptisms: 1735-1771, 1813-1834, 1840, 1840-1919*, 1922-1925*, 1929-
- 1968*
- Marriages: 1735-1811, 1816-1822, 1840-1947*, 1949-1968*
- Burials: 1735-1771, 1840-1922*, 1952-1968
- * The register entries before 1840 were with West Acklam. After 1840 the
parish Church of Middlesbrough St. Mary began registers.
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1617, 1631-1633, 1635-1638, 1640, 1661, 1662, 1664-1669, 1671-1673,1675, 1676#, 1677, 1681, 1682, 1685, 1689, 1691, 1694, 1695, 1697-1708,
1710-1713, 1715-1819, 1840, 1847-1849, 1854, 1855
# With West Acklam
IGI Coverage:
- C 1735-1771, 1813-1834, 1840-1878;
- M 1737-1771, 1840-1877
Transcripts and Indexes:
- C 1735-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Cleveland Archives
- M 1735-1769; 1813-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Cleveland Archives
- B 1735-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Cleveland Archives
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 16.12 on Sunday, 29 May 2011, by Colin Hinson ©2008]