Richmond parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish and market in the wapentake of Gilling West; 5 miles from Catterick,
8 from Leyburn, 10 from Middleham, Croft, and Reeth, 15 from Staindrop
(Co. Durham), 16 from Northallerton, 18 from Askrigg, 21 from Yarm, 44
from York, 234 from London. Population 3,546. The Church is a rectory
dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of Richmond, diocese of Chester.
Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)
- Baptisms: 1556-1678, 1680-1939
- Marriages: 1556-1678, 1680-1978
- Burials: 1556-1678, 1680-1968
- 1636, 1673, 1680, 1703, 1705, 1706, 1708, 1710-1713, 1715-1718,1721, 1723, 1724, 1727-1731, 1733, 1735-1808, 1810-1848, 1850-1869, (all
at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds).
- C 1636-1779, 1780-1847;
- M 1636-1779, 1780-1836
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1556-1812; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- C 1813-1842; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- M 1556-1632; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
- M 1653-1660, TI, Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 101, Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- M 1725-1770; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
- M 1813-1837; Index only; Joiner Marriage Index
- M 1813-1835; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- B 1813-1855; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 23.10 on Thursday, 01 August 2013, by Colin Hinson ©2008]