Genuki Logo    Scarborough<br>parish Scarborough
parish
 

Scarborough parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish and market town, in the wapentake of Pickering Lythe, Liberty of Scarborough; 18 miles from Bridlington, (the Quay 19,) 19 from Pickering, 20 from Whitby and Sledmere, 22 from Malton, 23 from Driffield, 40 from York, 217 from London, by Lincoln, by York, 239. Population 8,188. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of Dickering.

Deposited Registers (East Yorkshire Record Office)

Bishop's Transcripts:

IGI Coverage:

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1602-1683 (from BTs); Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  2. C 1687-1852, 3 vols; Manuscript transcript, no index; East Yorkshire Record Office, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, North Yorkshire County Record Office
  3. C 1852-1899; Manuscript transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, North Yorkshire County Record Office
  4. M 1689-1843; Manuscript transcript, no index; East Yorkshire Record Office, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, North Yorkshire County Record Office
  5. M 1843-1900; Manuscript transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, North Yorkshire County Record Office
  6. B 1689-1840, 2 vols; Manuscript transcript, no index; East Yorkshire Record Office, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, North Yorkshire County Record Office
  7. B 1841-1900; Manuscript transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, North Yorkshire County Record Office

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.


This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©Colin Hinson 2014