Thirsk parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish and market in the wapentake of Birdforth; 9 miles from
Northallerton, 10 from Easingwold, 11 from Boroughbridge and Ripon, 12
from Tontine Inn, 14 from Masham, Bedale, & Helmsley, 20 from Stokesley
and Yarm, 23 from York, 222 from London. Population 2,533. The Church, a
handsome gothic edifice, is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to St. Mary, in the
deanery of Bulmer.
Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)
- Baptisms: 1556-1961
- Marriages: 1556-1986
- Burials: 1556-1948
- 1600, 1601, 1603, 1604, 1622, 1631-1636, 1638-1640, 1663-1669,1671-1673, 1675-1678, 1680, 1682, 1689, 1691-1696, 1698-1716, 1718-1728,
- C 1556-1721, 1721-1864;
- M 1556-1719, 1720-1836
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1556-1721; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 42; Yorkshire Archaeological Society, North Yorkshire County Record Office
- CB 1721-1756; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- C 1813-1834; Manuscript transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- M 1556-1710; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
- M 1721-1754; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
- M 1780-1812, 1826-1836; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
- BM 1791-1812; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 23.10 on Thursday, 01 August 2013, by Colin Hinson ©2008]