Handsworth parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish town, in the upper division of Strafforth and Tickhill, Liberties of St.
Peter and Hallamshire; 4½ miles from Sheffield, 7 from Rotherham, 12½ from
Chesterfield (Derbys), 55 from York. Population 2,173. The Church is a
rectory, in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Chancellorship of York, and is
dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of Doncaster.
Deposited Registers ()
- Baptisms: Registers with incumbent. (From 1558)
- Marriages: Registers with incumbent. (From 1558)
- Burials: Registers with incumbent. (From 1558)
- 1598-1601, 1604, 1605, 1636, 1639, 1665-1668, 1670, 1673, 1674,1681, 1683, 1687-1689, 1692, 1697, 1700-1704, 1708-1723, 1725-1731,
1733-1736, 1739-1741, 1743-1874
- C 1708-1764, 1813-1874;
- M 1708-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
the link at the bottom of this page.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©Colin Hinson 2016