Knaresborough parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
A parish and market town, in the lower division of Claro, Liberties of St. Peter
and Knaresborough; 5 miles from Ripley, 7 from Boroughbridge and
Wetherby, 11 from Hopper Lane Inn, 12 from Ripon, 13 from Otley, 18 from
Leeds and York, 24 from Skipton, 201 from London. Population 5,283. The
Church, a prebendal peculiar, is a vicarage, dedicated to St. John the Baptist,
in the deanery of Boroughbridge, diocese of Chester.
Deposited Registers (NYRO, microfilm only)
- Baptisms: Registers with incumbent (Microfilm 1561-1933)
- Marriages: Registers with incumbent (Microfilm 1561-1912)
- Burials: Registers with incumbent (Microfilm 1561-1958)
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1670, 1674, 1675, 1679-1682, 1684, 1686-1688, 1690, 1691, 1696,1698, 1699, 1702, 1705-1718, 1721, 1723, 1725-1728, 1731-1738, 1740-1933
(All at WYAS, Leeds, plus one other, undated, c. 1670)
IGI Coverage:
- C 1670-1764, 1765-1778, 1819-1833, 1835-1839;
- M 1670-1764, 1765-1778, 1819-1833, 1835-1836
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1560-1753; PTI, EO; W. J. Kaye, 1922; YAS
- M 1801-1840; TI; BMI; SOG, YCL
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 12.02 on Saturday, 06 September 2008, by Colin Hinson ©2008]