Penistone parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
A parish and market town, in the wapentake of Staincross, Liberty of
Pontefract; 5 miles from Barnsley, 12¾ from Huddersfield, 13¾ from
Sheffield, 14 from Wakefield, 15 from Rotherham, 26 from Stockport
(Cheshire), 45 from York, 176 from London. Population 645. The Church is a
vicarage, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, in the deanery of Doncaster.
Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)
- Baptisms: 1644-1944
- Marriages: 1644-1974
- Burials: 1644-1977
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1600, 1601, 1603-1607, 1609, 1610, 1612, 1616, 1617, 1619, 1620,1623, 1624, 1627, 1628, 1630-1640, 1664-1669, 1671-1673, 1675, 1676,
1683, 1688, 1689, 1691, 1692, 1694-1699, 1701-1717, 1719-1812, 1814-1846,
(1847-1859*)
* At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds
IGI Coverage:
- C 1643-1844;
- M 1643-1785, 1815-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- C 1643-1801; M 1734-1849; B 1733-1843; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- C 1844-1862; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D28/4
- M 1800-1837; Index only, 4 vols;
Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
- B 1800-1852; Index only, 5 vols;
Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 16.12 on Sunday, 29 May 2011, by Colin Hinson ©2008]