Pontefract parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
A parish and market town, in the wapentake of Osgoldcross, Liberty of
Pontefract; 2 miles from Ferrybridge, 11 from Aberford, 9 from Wakefield, 13
from Leeds, 14 from Snaith, Barnsley, and Selby, 15 from Doncaster and
Tadcaster, 17 from Wetherby, 20 from Rotherham and Thorne, 24 from York,
177 from London. Population 4,447. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to
All Saints, in the deanery of Pontefract. [Note: The parish Church of All
Saints was so badly damaged during the Civil War, that the Chapel of St.
Giles became the de facto parish Church].
Deposited Registers (WYAS, Wakefield)
- Baptisms: 1585-1641, 1647-1972
- Marriages: 1585-1641, 1647-1648, 1653-1965
- Burials: 1585-1642, 1647-1949
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1598, 1600, 1601, 1603, 1604, 1610-1613, 1615-1617, 1619, 1622,1626, 1628-1640, 1664-1669, 1672, 1673, 1675, 1676, 1678, 1682-1684,
1692, 1694-1700, 1702-1878
IGI Coverage:
- C 1585-1642, 1721-1875;
- M 1585-1642, 1721-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1585-1641; PTI; YPRS 122; YAS
- C 1647-1672; M 1647-1653; B 1647-1653; TI; SOG, WYAS Wakefield,
Ref: C368/2
- C 1751-1803; TNI; WYAS Wakefield, Ref: C803/6/1/1-2
- C 1823-1835; TNI; WYAS Wakefield, Ref: D40/1/24-5
- M 1760-1821; MSTNI; LYMI; SOG
- M 1790-1812; TNI; WYAS Wakefield, Ref: C803/6/2/1-3
- M 1826-1843; TNI; WYAS Wakefield, Ref: C803/6/2/4-5
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 12.02 on Saturday, 06 September 2008, by Colin Hinson ©2008]