Genuki Logo    Sherburn in Elmet<br>parish Sherburn in Elmet
parish
 

Sherburn in Elmet parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish and market town, in the wapentake of Barkston Ash, a part in the Liberty of St. Peter; 3½ miles from Aberford, 6 from Ferrybridge, 7 from Tadcaster and Pontefract, 8 from Selby, 12½ from Leeds, 15 from York, 183 from London. Population 1,144. The Church, a prebendal peculiar, is a vicarage, dedicated to All Saints, in the deanery of the Ainsty.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research.)

Bishop's Transcripts:

IGI Coverage:

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1622-1709; Typed transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  2. CMB 1641-1753; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  3. M 1700-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via my error reporting form.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.


Valid HTML 4.01! This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via my error reporting form.


[Last updated at 16.12 on Sunday, 29 May 2011, by Colin Hinson ©2008]