Wakefield parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
The place:
A parish and market town, in Agbrigg division of Agbrigg and Morley,
Liberty of Wakefield; 5 miles from Dewsbury, 9 from Leeds and Pontefract, 10
from Barnsley, 13 from Huddersfield and Aberford, 15 from Bradford, 20 from
Doncaster, 25 from York, 182 from London. Population, including St. John
10,764. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to All Saints, in the deanery of
Pontefract.
Deposited Registers (WYAS, Wakefield)
- Baptisms: 1613-1984
- Marriages: 1613-1968
- Burials: 1613-1864
Bishop's Transcripts:
- 1600, 1602, 1604, 1626-1629, 1632-1640, 1664-1667, 1671, 1672, 1675,1676, 1682-1684, 1689-1846, (1847-1857*)
* At WYAS, Leeds
IGI Coverage:
- C 1600-1812, 1813-1846;
- M 1600-1812, 1813-1846
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1613-1812; TNI; YAS
- M 1613-1812; TI; BMI; SOG, YCL
Please note:
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via
my error reporting form.
[Last updated at 12.02 on Saturday, 06 September 2008, by Colin Hinson ©2008]