Whitgift parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish town, in the wapentake of Osgoldcross, Liberty of Pontefract; 6 miles
from Howden, 8 from Crowle (Lincs), 13 from Snaith, 26 from York.
Population 310. The Church, a peculiar of the Snaith Court, is a perpetual
curacy, dedicated to St. Mary Magdalen, in the deanery of Pontefract.
Deposited Registers (Doncaster Archives)
- Baptisms: 1562-1631, 1652-1926
- Marriages: 1562-1631, 1653-1684, 1692-1962
- Burials: 1562-1631, 1653-1886
- 1600, 1601, 1631, 1639, 1720-1723, 1725-1728, 1735, 1739-1741, 1744,1745, 1751-1763, 1765-1838
- C 1562-1631, 1640-1812, 1813-1838;
- M 1562-1631, 1653-1812, 1813-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1562-1812; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
- C 1562-1631; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives
- C 1716-1926; Typed transcript, no index; CI 1750-1926; Doncaster Archives
- M 1562-1837; Typed transcript, no index; CI 1750-1837; Doncaster Archives
- M 1716-1837; Index only; Archdeaconry of Doncaster Marriage Index
- M 1720-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
- B 1562-1886; Typed transcript, no index; CI 1750-1886; Doncaster Archives
For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are
in italics, please see the
Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998).
However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you
know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via
the link at the bottom of this page.
The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©Colin Hinson 2015