The index to Rosedale in the old North Riding of Yorkshire
has been compiled from transcription work I did as part of a research
degree I started some years ago. The work initially covered Rosedale
East and Rosedale West; but subsequently I enlarged the area of
study and thus included Hartoft and Cropton.
Some of the transcriptions have been made available in hard
copy form to the North Yorkshire County Record Office, Yorkshire
Archaelogical Society in Leeds and the Society of Genealogists
in London.
I should be very happy to
that you may have about the information given
here, but please note that I do not have additional information
at the present time. Any additional information will be added
as and when I have it.
Baine's History, directory & gazetteer of the county
of York; Vol II: East & North Ridings. Leeds, 1823
Bulmer's History, topography and directory of North Yorkshire,
1890
Kelly's Directory of North & East Riding of Yorks - Commercial
listing. 1857
Kelly's Post Office Directory, 1872
Kelly's Directory of the North and East Ridings ..., 1893
Kelly's Directory of the North and East Ridings ... , 1897
Kelly's Directory of the North and East Ridings ... , 1901
Kelly's Directory of the North and East Ridings ... , 1905
Kelly's Directory North Riding of Yorkshire, 1909
Post Office Directory, 1879.
White's History, gazetteer and directory of the East and
North Ridings of Yorkshire. Sheffield,1840
Index coverage of directories:
1823 Cropton
1840 Cropton, Hartoft, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1857 Cropton, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1872 Cropton, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1879 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1890 Cropton, Hartoft, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1893 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1897 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1901 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1905 Hartoft, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1909 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
LTA
Land Tax Assessments. NYCRO QDE(L) on microfilm
Index coverage:
1801 Cropton, Hartoft, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1822 Cropton, Hartoft, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1832 Cropton, Hartoft, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
MIs
Monumental inscriptions
Rosedale Abbey - The church and churchyard of St Mary and
St Lawrence and elsewhere in Rosedale.
Covers gravestones extant up to November 1995.
Transcription work carried out by Linda M Caswell and Carol
H Bartlett
available on this web site and, in hard copy, from the Cleveland,
North Yorkshire and South Durham Family History Society.
NYCRO
North Yorkshire County Record Office
Postal address: County Record Office, County Hall, Northallerton,
North Yorkshire DL7 8AF
Visitors: Malpas Road, Northallerton
Parish registers
Index coverage:
Rosedale Abbey - Church of St Mary and St Lawrence
Early parish registers covering baptisms, marriages and burials
April 1740 - July 1783
Baptisms November 1783 - April 1911
Banns 1870 - 1908 (includes people who do not appear in the
marriage register)
Marriages January 1755 - November 1909
(there were no marriages in 1825, 1834,1836, 1838, 1839,
1841, 1843, 1845, 1851). Witnesses are not included in the index.
Burials November 1783 - February 1910
Rosedale mentions in other parish registers
Baptisms
Cropton 1813
Lastingham September 1777 - September 1847
Middleton 1869 - 1897
Marriages
Lastingham 1819 - 1895
Middleton 1837 - 1906
Burials
Cropton February 1839 - December 1910
Lastingham February 1777 - November 1956
Middleton February 1825 - February 1937
NB Witnesses to marriages have NOT been included.
PRO
Public Record Office, Ruskin Avenue, Kew, Richmond, Surrey
TW9 4DU
Rosedale sale
PRO XP/1147/ DL41/62 Particulars of the Rosedale Estate in
the county of York, which will be sold by auction, at the George
Inn, Coney-Street, York on Wednesday, the 30th September, 1829
Index coverage: Rosedale East
York Courant and original advertiser (NYCRO MIC 2874)
Tuesday September 22nd 1829 p.1 - Advertisements
'Sale of
Rosedale Crown Manor and Estate
Postponed
Notice is hereby given
That the sale of the crown estate, comprising the manor
or lordship of Rosedale in the North Riding of the County of York
containing upwards of 5100 acres, advertised to take place at
the George Inn, Coney Street, York on Wednesday the 30th September,
1829, is unavoidably postponed to a future day, of which due notice
will be given. 19th September, 1829'
York Courant and original advertiser (NYCRO MIC 2874)
December 8th 1829 p.1 - Advertisements
'An important crown estate.
The manor of Rosedale.
Within the Lordship of Pickering in the North Riding
of the County of York.
To be sold by auction, by Mr Lancaster, at the George
Inn, Coney Street, York, on Thusday 31st day of December 1829,
at twelve o'clock by order of the Right Hon. Lord Lowther, Wm
Dacres Adams, and Henry Dawkins, Esquires, Commissioners of His
Majesty's Woods, forests and land revenues, and under the authority
of the Lords Commissioners of His Majesty's Treasury.
In the Land Tax Assessment for 1832 the Proprietor
of Rosedale East is still given as 'His Majesty'.
By 1840 Geo S Penfold is given as Lord of manor in White's
1840.
1910 valuation
DUTIES ON LAND VALUES
Record of Valuations made by the Commissioners of Inland Revenue,
in accordance with the provisions of Part I of the Finance (1909/10)
Act, 1910.
A Valuation Book for the parish or place of ...
Index coverage:
Cropton, Hartoft, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
Tithes
Index coverage:
Cropton 1849 PRO IR29/42-99
Hartoft not available
Rosedale East 1850 PRO IR29/42-312
Rosedale West 1838 PRO IR29/42-313
Voters
Poll 1807
The poll for knights of the shire begun on Wednesday, May
20th and finally closed on Friday June 5th, 1807, taken at the
castle of York before Richard Fountayne Wilson, Esquire, High
Sheriff of the said county. The poll for the county of York 1807.
[NYCRO]
Register of electors, 1832-1875
[at NYCRO QDE(R) MICrofilm 168-185]
full titles of those for 1832 are: The copy of the lists
of persons entitled to vote in the election of two knights of
the shire, for the North Riding of the County of York in respect
of property in .... the division or wapentake of Pickering Lythe.
'in pursuance of Stat 2 Wm 4 c45 s.54. [1832] [NYCRO MIC 168]
[NB for Cropton, Hartoft, Rosedale East]
and The copy of the lists of persons entitled to vote in
the election of two knights of the shire, for the North Riding
of the County of York in respect of property in .... the division
or wapentake of Rydale. 'in pursuance of Stat 2 Wm 4 c45 s.54.
[1832] [NYCRO MIC 168] [NB for Rosedale West]
In 1837 the title was The names of voters for the North Riding
of the County of York, for the year 1837. The same wapentakes
of Pickering Lythe and Rydale were used.
Index coverage:
1807 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1832 Cropton, Hartoft, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1833 Rosedale East
1834 Rosedale East
1835 Cropton, Hartoft, Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1837 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1838 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1839 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1840 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1841 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1842 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1863 Rosedale East, Rosedale West
1864 Cropton, Hartoft, Rosedale East, Rosedale West