Aysgarth parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Aysgarth parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/NRY/YPR_NRY.txt

The place:

A parish in the wapentake of Hang West; 4 miles from Askrigg, 9 from Hawes, 7 from Leyburn, 9 from Middleham, 52 from York. Population 293. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Andrew, in the deanery of Catterick, diocese of Chester.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

• Baptisms: 1709-1899
• Marriages: 1709-1946
• Burials: 1709-1920

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1637, 1663, 1665, 1670, 1674, 1676, 1678, 1680, 1681, 1687, 1692,1696-1698, 1701-1707, 1709, 1710, 1713-1718, 1721, 1723, 1725-1730, 1732, 1734, 1736-1738, 1740-1875, (all at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds).

IGI Coverage:

• C 1691-1759, 1767-1848

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1637-1728 (from BTs); Typed transcript, no index; Marian Kirby, 1992; North Yorkshire County Record Office
2. CMB 1709-1840; Typed transcript, with index; Miss Pole-Stuart, 1942; Society of Genealogists
3. C 1746-1813; M 1746-1756; B 1746-1812; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
4. C 1813-1899; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
5. M 1637-1737; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
6. M 1754-1909; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
7. B 1813-1920; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office

On line (by Sue Turner):

1. FamilySearch C 1709-1899; Banns 1802-1942; M 1709-1909; B 1709-1920; BTs as above (indexed, restricted access images)
2. findmypast C 1709-1900; Banns 1802-1931; M 1709-1909; B 1709-1920 (with images)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---