Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for In 1822, the following places were in the Parish of East Witton:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

In 1822, the following places were in the Parish of East Witton:


"BIRKS, in the parish of East Witton, and wapentake of Hang West, 5 miles W. of Masham. A small hamlet pleasantly situated in Colsterdale. Pop. included with East Witton."

"Efforts to locate this in 2008 failed: I have wandered about up there looking at spoil heaps (a long time ago) and there are only heaps of stones, no hamlet. I was perplexed when I first came across Birks as a place in the East Witton parish registers, but I did find it as Birks Gill. All the people who lived there were miners, when the mines closed, all the buildings fell down." [Marion Moverley 2008]

Birks is shown on the Jeffrey's 1771 map of Yorkshire, scattered along the road up Colsterdale, probably between modern day Low Houses and the Toc H Colsterdale Centre. It lies between Birk Gill Beck and the River Burn. I have tried to locate it by comparing the OS 1:25,000 map on streetmap.co.uk and my copy of Jeffrey's, my best guess at the location is here on streetmap [Doug Whiteley 2013]"


"BRAITHWAITE HALL, a farm house in the township of East Witton within, and parish of East-Witton; 1¾ miles W. of East Witton, 2 miles from Middleham."


"FLEET'S HOUSE, a farm house in the township and parish of East Witton, 3 miles from Middleham."


"HAMMER, a farm house in the township of East-Witton-without, and parish of East-Witton; 1 mile SE. of East Witton, 4 miles from Middleham, 6 from Leyburn."


"HIGH NEWSTEAD, a small hamlet, in the parish of East Witton wapentake of Hang West and liberty of Richmondshire; 1¾ miles SE. of East Witton, 3½ miles SE. of Middleham."


"JERVAULX ABBEY, in the parish of East Witton, wapentake of Hang West, and liberty of Richmondshire; 1¾ miles E. of East Witton, 3 miles SE. of Middleham." (There is further information for Jervaulx Abbey).


"KILGRIM BRIDGE, in the parish of East Witton, wapentake of Hang West, and liberty of Richmondshire; 3 miles E. of East Witton, 4 miles NW. of Masham."


"LANE HOUSE, a farm house in the township of East-Witton-without, and parish of East-Witton; 2¾ miles E. of East Witton, 6 miles from Middleham."


"MOOR COTE, in the parish of East Witton and wapentake of an West; 1¾ miles SE. of East Witton, 4 miles SE. of Middleham."


"ULSHAW BRIDGE, in the parish of East Witton, wapentake of Hang West; ¾ mile N. of East Witton, 1 mile E. of Middleham."

[Description(s) edited mainly from various 19th century sources by Colin Hinson. ©2010]