GENUKI Home page    East Witton Parish East Witton
Parish

In 1822, the following places were in


the Parish of East Witton:


"BIRKS, in the parish of East Witton, and wapentake of Hang West, 5 miles W. of Masham. A small hamlet pleasantly situated in Colsterdale. Pop. included with East Witton. Efforts to locate this in 2008 failed: " I have wandered about up there looking at spoil heaps (a long time ago) and there are only heaps of stones, no hamlet. I was perplexed when I first came across Birks as a place in the East Witton parish registers, but I did find it as Birks Gill. All the people who lived there were miners, when the mines closed, all the buildings fell down."[Marion Moverley 2008] The grid reference given in the Genuki gazetteer will take you to the location of Birk Gill."


"BRAITHWAITE HALL, a farm house in the township of East Witton within, and parish of East-Witton; 1¾ miles W. of East Witton, 2 miles from Middleham."


"FLEET'S HOUSE, a farm house in the township and parish of East Witton, 3 miles from Middleham."


"HAMMER, a farm house in the township of East-Witton-without, and parish of East-Witton; 1 mile SE. of East Witton, 4 miles from Middleham, 6 from Leyburn."


"HIGH NEWSTEAD, a small hamlet, in the parish of East Witton wapentake of Hang West and liberty of Richmondshire; 1¾ miles SE. of East Witton, 3½ miles SE. of Middleham."


"JERVAULX ABBEY, in the parish of East Witton, wapentake of Hang West, and liberty of Richmondshire; 1¾ miles E. of East Witton, 3 miles SE. of Middleham." (There is further information for Jervaulx Abbey).


"KILGRIM BRIDGE, in the parish of East Witton, wapentake of Hang West, and liberty of Richmondshire; 3 miles E. of East Witton, 4 miles NW. of Masham."


"LANE HOUSE, a farm house in the township of East-Witton-without, and parish of East-Witton; 2¾ miles E. of East Witton, 6 miles from Middleham."


"MOOR COTE, in the parish of East Witton and wapentake of an West; 1¾ miles SE. of East Witton, 4 miles SE. of Middleham."


"ULSHAW BRIDGE, in the parish of East Witton, wapentake of Hang West; ¾ mile N. of East Witton, 1 mile E. of Middleham."

[Description(s) edited from various 19th century sources by Colin Hinson. © 2007]


Valid HTML 4.01! This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©CRH 2006
If you find an error (small or large) in the text or a bad link, please drop me a line via my error reporting form.


[Last updated at 20.21 on Monday, 01 September 2008, by Colin Hinson. ©2008]