The Ancient Parish of NORMANBY
[Transcribed information mainly from the early 1820s]
"NORMANBY, a parish in the wapentake of Rydale; 5 miles SSE. of Kirkbymoorside.
The church (see Churches for photograph) is in the patronage of Arthur Cayley, Esq. Population 191."
"ROOK BARUGH, 2 farm houses in the township and parish of Normanby, wapentake of
Rydale; 1 mile WNW. of Normanby, 4 miles from Kirbymoorside."
"THORNTON RISEBROUGH, farmhouses in the parish of Normanby, and wapentake of
Rydale; ¾ mile NE. of Normanby, 4 miles W. of Pickering. Pop. 32."
[Description(s) edited mainly from various 19th century sources by Colin Hinson. ©2010]
- Here are photographs of Churches etc. in the parish:
- The parish registers from 1699 to 1812 (Baptisms and Burials) or
1837 (Marriages) have been transcribed by "Denis". This data was
originally placed on the web by Paul Benyon, and Paul has asked that
the pages be hosted by Genuki so that they don't "keep moving around".
Please check the alphabetical index first if you are looking for someone specific
but note that the page for 1706-7 Baptisms was damaged and first names were difficult or impossible to read.
later baptisms, marriages and burials (1813 to 1949) have been transcribed by Bernie Frank and are to be found on his Normanby in Ryedale web-site.
- The whereabouts and dates of the Registers etc. for the
Parish of Normanby.
List of Rectors and Patrons to 1953 in St. Andrew's Church, Normanby.
List of Rectors from 1958 in St. Andrew's Church, Normanby.
- This parish is covered (or partly covered) by the following Societies:
This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal
use or as given in the conditions of use.
If you have any suggestions for links to other sites that may be useful to other researchers,
please use this User Links page
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©Colin Hinson 2015