We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Romaldkirk

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.


[Transcribed information mainly from the early 1820s]

"ROMALDKIRK, a parish in the wapentake of Gilling West, and liberty of Richmondshire; 6 miles NW. of Barnard Castle. A most extensive parish, situated in Teesdale, extending from Deepdale, near Barnard Castle, to the confines of the three counties of York, Durham, and Westmoreland. This parish includes the townships of Lartington, Cotherstone, Hunderthwaite, Mickleton, Lune, Helwick, and Romaldkirk. Population, 377." (There is further information for Romaldkirk).

Information on the following places in this Parish is contained on a supplementary page.

  • Arngill
  • Birtle
  • Bowbank
  • Corn Park
  • Cotherstone
  • Cragg
  • Crossthwaite
  • Deepdale
  • Doe Park Hall
  • East Briscoe
  • Eastfield
  • Grassholme
  • Greengates
  • Hagworm Hall
  • Holwick
  • Hunderthwaite
  • Hury
  • Kelton
  • Laithkirk
  • Lartington
  • Lonton
  • Loupside
  • Lunedale
  • Mickleton
  • Naby
  • Nettlepot
  • Scoon Bank
  • Thring Garth
  • Thringarth Hill
  • Thwaite Hall
  • Unthank
  • Waybill
  • Wemmergill Hall
  • Westfield
  • Wooden Croft
  • Wythes Hill
[Description(s) edited mainly from various 19th century sources by Colin Hinson. ©2010]


Church History

Church Records




  • A separate ecclesiastical parish consisting of the townships of Lunedale, Mickleton, and Holwick (formerly a chapelry under this parish), was constituted in 1845. See Laithkirk Parish.

Names, Geographical

  • The following places are within the boundaries of this (ancient) parish, but I have no further information on them other than the Ordnance Survey Landranger Grid reference shown:
    • (NY860210) Arngill House
    • (NY930180) Baldersdale
    • (NZ004203) Doe Park
    • (NY889215) Stackholme
    • (NY962200) Thorngarth Hill
    • (NZ035178) Towler Hill
    • (NY901217) Wemmergill Hall (Farm)
    • (NY967191) West Briscoe
    • (NZ006207) Woden Croft