Skelton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Skelton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/NRY/YPR_NRY.txt

The place:

A parish in the wapentake of Bulmer, and Liberty of St. Peter; 4 miles from York, 9 from Easingwold, 18 from Malton. Population 187, St. Peter's 86, total 273. The Church, in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Lay Manor of Alne and Tollerton, is a rectory, dedicated, to St. Peter, in the deanery of Bulmer.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)

• Baptisms: 1538-1654, 1657-1749, 1751-1936, 1938-1978
• Marriages: 1538-1654, 1657-1749, 1751-1811, 1813-1837, 1842-1982
• Burials: 1538-1654, 1657-1749, 1751-1931

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1600, 1601, 1628, 1631, 1637, 1662, 1673, 1680-1687, 1690-1692,1694-1696, 1704, 1709, 1710, 1712-1717, 1719, 1725, 1727, 1728, 1731, 1732, 1734, 1736, 1740-1747, 1749-1753, 1755-1769, 1771-1784, 1793-1808, 1810-1814, 1817-1826, 1847-1855, 1866-1874

IGI Coverage:

• C 1732-1874;
• M 1732-1826

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. M 1813-1837; Typed transcript, no index; Margaret E. Smith; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
2. M 1813-1823; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

On line (by Sue Turner):

1. FamilySearch C 1594-1900, 1907-1908; M 1538,1555, 1560, 1596, 1599, 1606-1882; B 1529, 1554-1759, 1829, 1835-1836
2. findmypast C 1563-1915; M 1568-1930; B 1568-1969 (with images)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---