Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Ackworth parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Ackworth parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the wapentake of Osgoldcross, Liberty of Pontefract; 3 miles from Pontefract, 5 from Ferrybridge, 8 from Wakefield, 28 from York. Population, including Low Ackworth 1,575. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to St. Cuthbert, in the deanery of Pontefract.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds)

  • Baptisms: 1558-1935
  • Marriages: 1558-1957
  • Burials: 1558-1941

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600-1605, 1607, 1609, 1610, 1612, 1614, 1615, 1627, 1629, 1630,1632-1640, 1667-1669, 1671, 1673, 1677, 1678, 1681-1684, 1688, 1689, 1691-1695, 1697, 1698, 1700-1746, 1748-1780, 1782-1838, 1843, 1844, 1875-1887, 1889, 1890

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1558-1812, 1813-1875;
  • M 1600-1812, 1813-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1558-1686; Typed transcript, no index (bound in register); West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield
  2. CMB 1558-1600; Typed transcript, no index; "Yorkshire Notes and Queries", 1888; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  3. C 1813-1840; Typed transcript, with index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society, Society of Genealogists
  4. M 1770-1780; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
  5. M 1803-1812; Typed transcript, no index (bound in register); West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.