Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Birstall parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Birstall parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town in the Morley division of Agbrigg and Morley, Liberty of Pontefract; 7 miles from Leeds and Bradford, 7½ from Halifax, 8½ from Huddersfield, 31 from York. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated, to St. Peter, in the deanery of Pontefract.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

  • Baptisms: 1558-1913
  • Marriages: 1558-1919
  • Burials: 1560-1905

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1598-1602, 1604-1606, 1609, 1611, 1612, 1614, 1615, 1633-1641,1661-1669, 1671-1673, 1675-1678, 1683, 1684, 1686-1689, 1691, 1692, 1694-1706, 1708-1716, 1718-1847, (1848-1878*)
    * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1724-1847;
  • M 1724-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1558-1635; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 146; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  2. CMB 1600-1800; Index only; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  3. CMB 1636-1687; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 152; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  4. CMB 1687-1724; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD: P5
  5. CMB 1724-1759; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 172; CD P23
  6. CMB 1752-1782; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD37
  7. CMB 1782-1799; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD39 (including Cleckheaton)
  8. CMB 1799-1812; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD40 (including Cleckheaton)
  9. CMB 1813-1837; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD41 (including part of Cleckheaton)
  10. CB 1687-1837; M 1689-1837; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  11. M 1812-1815; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
  12. C 1878-1903; St. Andrew's, Oakenshaw South Bradford Local History Alliance.
  13. B 1847-1877; St. Mary's, Wyke South Bradford Local History Alliance.
  14. M 1724-1752; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  15. M 1753-1772; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  16. M 1773-1788; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  17. M 1789-1800; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  18. M 1801-1811; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  19. M 1812-1821; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  20. M 1822-1829; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  21. M 1830-1837; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  22. C 1724-1738; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  23. C 1739-1751; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  24. C 1752-1763; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  25. C 1764-1773; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  26. C 1774-1781; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  27. C 1782-1789; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  28. C 1790-1797; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  29. C 1798-1805; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  30. C 1806-1811; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  31. C 1812-1817; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  32. C 1818-1823; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  33. C 1824-1829; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  34. C 1830-1835; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  35. C 1836-1841; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  36. C 1842-1848; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  37. C 1849-1855; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  38. C 1856-1862; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  39. C 1863-1870; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  40. C 1871-1878; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  41. C 1879-1890; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  42. C 1891-1913; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  43. B 1561-1650; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  44. B 1651-1715; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  45. B 1716-1760; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  46. B 1761-1789; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  47. B 1790-1813; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  48. B 1814-1847; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  49. B 1848-1875; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  50. B 1876-1905; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.