Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Ecclesfield

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Ecclesfield

[Transcribed information mainly from the early 1820s]

"ECCLESFIELD, a parish-town, in the upper-division of Strafforth and Tickhill, liberty of Hallamshire; 4½ miles N. of Sheffield, 7 from Rotherham, 10 from Barnsley, 48 from York. Pop. 7,163. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanry of Doncaster, value, £19. 3s. 4d. p.r. £150. Patron, the Duke of Norfolk." (There is further information for Ecclesfield).

Information on the following places in this Parish is contained on a supplementary page.

  • Aldwarke Hall
  • Barnsgreen
  • Bingley Seat
  • Birley Car
  • Bolsterstone
  • Bradfield
  • Brightholmlee
  • Broomhead Hall
  • Brush House
  • Burncross
  • Butterthwaite
  • Chapeltown
  • Combes
  • Darlands
  • Deepcar
  • Dungworth
  • Dyson Holm
  • Eld
  • Elm Green
  • Ewden
  • Foldrings
  • Grenofirth
  • Grenoside
  • Hatfield House
  • High Green
  • Holden House
  • Holdworth
  • Housley Hall
  • Hunger Hill
  • Hurst Green
  • Langley Brook
  • Low Bradfield
  • Loxley
  • Malinbridge
  • Middleton Green
  • Middlewood Hall
  • Midhope
  • More Hall
  • Mortomley
  • Nether Bank
  • Nether Shire
  • North Wood Seat
  • Old Booth
  • Ones Acre
  • Oughtibridge
  • Page Hall
  • Rails
  • Royds
  • Shire Green
  • Shirtcliffe Hall
  • Sigsworth
  • Small Field
  • South Wood Seat
  • Southey Green
  • Springfield House
  • Stannington
  • Stocksbridge
  • Storrs
  • Storrs Green
  • Strinds
  • Thorn Seat
  • Thorncliffe
  • Tinker Brook
  • Town End
  • Ughill
  • Upper Midhope
  • Wadsley
  • Wadsley Bridge
  • Waldershelf
  • Wardsend
  • Westnall
  • Wheat Croft
  • Whitley
  • Whitwell
  • Wigtwizzle
  • Winco Bank
  • Wood Seats
  • Worrall
  • Yews
[Description(s) edited from various 19th century sources by Colin Hinson © 2013]

Cemeteries

Charities

Churches

Church History

Church Records

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ecclesfield which are provided by:

Directories

Gazetteers

Genealogy

  • Bolsterstone
    • The ENG-YORKS-BOLSTERSTONE-NEWSLETTER mailing list is a read-only list related to the Bolsterstone Genealogy Project. The list owner will post updates about the Project including the marriage, burial and christening information that she is extracting from the parish registers. Additional information can be found on the Bolsterstone Genealogy Project website at www.bolsterstone.de. To subscribe send "subscribe" to
      eng-yorks-bolsterstone-newsletter-l-request[at]rootsweb[dot]com

History

Memorial Inscriptions

Names, Geographical

  • The following places are within the boundaries of this (ancient) parish, but I have no further information on them other than the Ordnance Survey Landranger Grid reference shown:
    • (SK243940) Agden Bridge
    • (SK250930) Agden House
    • (SK448949) Aldwarke
    • (SK338957) Barnes Hall
    • (SK334919) Birley Carr
    • (SK330927) Birley Edge
    • (SK339966) Charltonbrook
    • (SK276933) Edge Mount
    • (SK273961) Ewden Village
    • (SK369910) Firth Park
    • (SK264984) Garden Village
    • (SK270897) Hall Broom
    • (SK380915) High Wincobank
    • (SK281893) Hill Top
    • (SK249882) Hollow Meadows
    • (SK357969) Lane End
    • (SK272888) Load Brook
    • (SK353912) Longley Estate
    • (SK387918) Low Wincobank
    • (SK319917) Middlewood
    • (SK238995) Midhopestones
    • (SK355922) Parson Cross
    • (SK371917) Pismire Hill
    • (SK333973) Potter Hill
    • (SK370927) Shiregreen
    • (SK288905) Stacey Bank
    • (SK288887) Stopes
    • (SK243921) Thornseat
    • (SK307878) Under Tofts
    • (SK263967) Waldershaigh
    • (SK357976) Warren
    • (SK299942) Wharncliffe Side

Officials and Employees

  • Karen Turner has made available a transcription of a document giving details of Servants at Wincobank Hall, Sheffield (1817 - c 1840).

Probate Records

  • Sheffield Records Online provide a searchable online database of those from Sheffield, Rotherham, Ecclesfield and surroundings who have a Will or Administration. Full probate index text is available and the database is searchable by a combination of surname, forename, year of death and abode.

Societies