Gisburn parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Gisburn parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish town, in the west division and Liberty of Staincliffe; 7 miles from Clitheroe (Lancs), 11 from Skipton and Settle, 52 from York, 224 from London. Population 690. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of Craven.

Deposited Registers (Lancashire Record Office)

• Baptisms: 1558-1967
• Marriages: 1754-1939
• Burials: 1799-1956

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1600-1602, 1604, 1631, 1634-1640, 1661, 1663, 1666-1669, 1671-1673,1675, 1676, 1678, 1679, 1682-1684, 1688, 1689, 1691-1695, 1697-1699, 1701-1711, 1713-1847, (1848-1865*)
  * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

• C 1561-1847;
• M 1558-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1558-1745; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 114; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
2. CMB 1558-1812; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD: P6
3. CMB 1745-1812; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 118; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
4. CMB 1813-1837; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
5. B 1558-2007 Searchable database by Gisburn.org.uk

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---