Halifax parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Halifax parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish and market town, in Morley division of Agbrigg and Morley, Liberty of Wakefield; 8 miles from Bradford and Huddersfield, 10 from Dewsbury, 12 from Keighley and Todmorden, 16½ from Rochdale (Lancs), 18 from Leeds, 42 from York, 197 from London. Population, including St. James and Holy Trinity 12,628. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, in the deanery of Pontefract.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

• Baptisms: 1538-1977
• Marriages: 1538-1981
• Burials: 1538-1937

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1600, 1601, 1604, 1626-1628, 1631-1640, 1661-1673, 1675, 1676,1683-1685, 1688, 1689, 1691, 1693-1718, 1720-1777, 1780-1786, 1788, 1790-1846, (1847-1869, 1871-1879*)
  * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

• C 1538-1593, 1720-1847;
• M 1538-1593, 1720-1800, 1800-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1538-1541; Typed transcript, no index; In the parish magazine; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
2. CMB 1541-1542; Typed transcript, no index; "Yorkshire Notes and Queries", Vol 2; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
3. CMB 1543-1593; Typed transcript, no index; "Yorkshire County Magazine"; Society of Genealogists
4. C 1538-1593; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 37; Yorkshire Archaeological Society, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
5. MB 1538-1593; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 45; Yorkshire Archaeological Society, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
6. M 1538-1593; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
7. C 1813-1838, Transcript, with index; Calderdale Family History Society (purchase)
8. M 1813-1837, 29 vols; Typed transcript, with index; Calderdale Family History Society (purchase)
9. B 1813-1861, 2 vols; Typed transcript, with index; Calderdale Family History Society (purchase)
10. CB 1782-1912; Halifax Holy Trinity; Transcript; Calderdale Family History Society (purchase)
11. CB 1782-1912; Halifax St. James; Transcript; Calderdale Family History Society (purchase)
12. CB 1813-1869; Cragg Vale; Transcript; Calderdale Family History Society (purchase)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---