Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Kirkby Malzeard parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Kirkby Malzeard parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the lower division of Claro, Liberty of St. Peter; 4 miles from Masham, 7 from Ripon, 10 from Pateley Bridge, 30 from York. Population 682. The Church, in the peculiar jurisdiction of Trinity College Cambridge, is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Andrew, in the deanery of Catterick, diocese of Chester.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

  • Baptisms: 1653-1844
  • Marriages: 1653-1905
  • Burials: 1653-1854

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1683-1833, 1840-1858, 1866-1870, 1872 (All at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds)

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1653-1764

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1653-1706; NI; North Yorkshire County Record Office *
  2. CMB 1706-1764; NI; North Yorkshire County Record Office *
  3. CB 1765-1812; NI; North Yorkshire County Record Office *
    * I have held these three books and noted the dates above from them as written on the spines, although this is at slight odds with the North Yorkshire County Record Office's own publication No. 39, that only indicates transcript, (without index) and the date range for marriages is 1653 to 1655. They also spell (and index) under Kirby Malzeard not Kirkby Malzeard, at odds with many written references in the archived documents. [Doug Whiteley, March 2008]

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.