Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Sheffield parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Sheffield parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

The Parish Church. It was erected in the time of Henry I, near the centre of the town. Population included with Sheffield. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Peter and Paul, or the Holy Trinity, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (Sheffield Archives)

  • Baptisms: 1560-1969
  • Marriages: 1560-1985
  • Burials: 1560-1855

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1608-1618, 1620, 1622-1624, 1626-1641, 1664-1669, 1671, 1673, 1675,1676, 1682-1685, 1688-1690, 1692-1697, 1699-1818, 1822, 1828 Note: All chapelries are included, 1608-1818

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1560-1719, 1720-1828;
  • M 1560-1719, 1720-1828

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CM 1560-1703; B 1686; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD: P14 (including Saxton and Swillington)
  2. CM 1560-1634; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 58; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  3. CM 1635-1653; B 1560-1634; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 60; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  4. CM 1653-1686; B 1635-1653; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 68; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  5. CM 1687-1703; B 1653-1686; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 74; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  6. CM 1703-1719; B 1686-1703; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of); Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  7. CM 1720-1736; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 143; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  8. C 1560-1812, 3 vols; Typed transcript, with index; Sheffield Archives
  9. C 1736-1752; B 1703-1719; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 154; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  10. C 1736-1752; M 1736-1754; B 1703-1753; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  11. M 1560-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Sheffield Archives
  12. M 1560-1719; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
  13. M 1720-1837 (out-of-area); Index only; Sheffield Archives
  14. M 1736-1754; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of)
  15. B 1560-1812, 6 vols; Typed transcript, with index; Sheffield Archives

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.