Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Thorne parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Thorne parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish and market town, in the lower division of Strafforth and Tickhill; 6 miles from Crowle (Lincs), 7 from Snaith, 11 from Doncaster, 13¼ from Howden, 14 from Bawtry, 30 from York, 170 from London. Population 3,463. The Church is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to St. Nicholas, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers ()

  • Baptisms: Registers with incumbent. (1565-1887)
  • Marriages: Registers with incumbent. (1565-1837)
  • Burials: Registers with incumbent. (1565-1896)

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1601-1603, 1605, 1623, 1631, 1633-1639, 1660-1669, 1671-1673, 1675,1678, 1683, 1685, 1686, 1688, 1689, 1691-1695, 1697-1703, 1706, 1708- 1722, 1724-1861

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1724-1861;
  • M 1724-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. C 1565-1887; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives
  2. M 1565-1837; Typed transcript, no index; CI; Doncaster Archives
  3. M 1565-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; SOG, York Central Library
  4. M 1565-1679; "Family History", Vol 5; 1970; Typed transcript, with index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  5. M 1693-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
  6. M 1699-1837; Index only; Archdeaconry of Doncaster Marriage Index
  7. B 1565-1876; Typed transcript, no index; Card Index; Doncaster Archives

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.