Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Thornton in Craven parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Thornton in Craven parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the east division and Liberty of Staincliffe; 6 miles from Skipton, Gargrave, Gisburn, and Colne (Lancs), 13 from Keighley and Settle, 47 from York. Population 1,829. The Church, which is at some distance from the village, is a rectory, dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of Craven.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

  • Baptisms: 1566-1644, 1647-1651, 1683-1913
  • Marriages: 1566-1644, 1683-1942
  • Burials: 1566-1644, 1647-1651, 1683-1903

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600, 1601, 1605-1607, 1631-1638, 1640, 1661, 1662, 1664, 1666-1669,1671-1673, 1675, 1678, 1682, 1683, 1688, 1691-1695, 1697-1703, 1705-1729, 1731-1832, 1839, 1840, (1839-1850, 1853-1857*)
    * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1735-1841;
  • M 1735-1832

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. M 1761-1774, 1818-1832; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.